Live Score

Click here to see other video clips

Photo Gallery

Click here to see Photo Gallery

Hong Kong Open Chronology

1958 Kim Hall writes to Australian professional Eric Cremin to see if those players playing in the Philippine Open in 1959 would consider staying in the region to play in Hong Kong
1959 The Inaugural Hong Kong Open is staged with Taiwanese player Lu Liang Huan taking the title. He would later become known around the globe as “Mr Lu” after challenging Lee Trevino before eventually coming second at the Open Championship in 1971
1960 Australian legend Peter Thomson wins the first of his three Hong Kong Open Titles
1974 Mr Lu regains the Hong Kong Open title 15 years after his first victory
1979 Greg Norman wins his first Hong Kong Open title. He would win his second in 1983.
1991 Hong Kong Open moves from its February date to the end of the year. Langer takes advantage of the more clement weather to secure victory.
1992 Multiple Major Winner Tom Watson adds the Hong Kong Open to his impressive collection of titles
2001 The European Tour sanction the Hong Kong Open for the first time heralding a new era for the Championship. Jose Maria Olazabal takes the title.
2005 UBS become Title Sponsor of the Hong Kong Open. Colin Montgomerie marks the occasion with a victory on his first appearance in the Championship.
2008 One of the most thrilling play-offs in the Championships’ history is contested between rising star Rory McIlroy and Lin Wen Tang both players pulling off miraculous recovery shots before Lin secured victory.
2011 Rory McIlroy wins his first UBS Hong Kong Open and would go on to become World Number 1

Miguel Angel Jiménez became the oldest winner in European Tour history as the Spaniard produced a master class in approach play to capture the Hong Kong Open for the third time


Miguel Angel Jimenez defends his Hong Kong Open title